Skip to content

Kiss His Feet

March 11, 2014

I will say it again… I am not the same as I was before… I used to just think things were sad but I could get over them pretty quickly, by distracting my mind (changing the channel).

Today I simply read something that I just can’t stop crying about.  What makes this story different than all the rest? …Maybe because it’s more real to me than ever before.  I am living in one of those channels I can’t push a button to get out of.  I used to think my comfort zone was in my own town and my own stores, where I knew exactly the aisle to go to for exactly the item I needed.  But, you know, I think all of the United States of America is a comfort zone.  I remember when I went back, over a year ago… just stepping out onto American soil was indescribable.  I was in a State I had never set foot in before but I felt such a tremendous sense of relief that I had never felt before.  I didn’t even realize the intensity, the strain that had overtaken me of living in another country.  I immediately understood why someone would actually kiss the ground.  Why did I come back to the intensity, to the strain???  Our little girl of course, who we will eventually adopt… but also because it is where God sent us and our work is not yet done.  I am definitely not in my comfort zone, but I am in a place where my comfort rests in Christ and Christ alone.  Rather than kissing the earth, I could kiss His feet.  Therefore, I am exactly where I should be… so far out of my comfort zone, that I need Him for everything.

The story that I read that has brought me to tears is from the Secret Church… If you don’t know what I am talking about, let me explain for just a moment because it is awesome… and you should all know about it.  A young Pastor, named David Platt spent some time in underground house churches in Asia where Christians would meet, some at the cost of their own lives, for 8 to 12 hours at a time to pray and study God’s word.  He was obviously moved by this and they now have what is called the Secret Church, in the U.S., where thousands or more believers meet for 6 hours or so to pray and meditate on the Word.  It is translated into several languages and is even like a seminary for those in other countries who don’t have that available to them. You can read more about it when you go to their website and even watch the Secret Church online… http://www.radical.net/secretchurch/  Great stuff!

What I read in particular today was a blog post on this site by Jonathan L., dated March 10, 2014.  The title… North Korea to Execute 33 Christians…  My heart broke on these words alone and with every word that followed.  I am very vivid in my thinking… just like when the plane went missing very near here from Malaysia to Beijing.  I kept thinking, picturing, what the passengers might have incurred.  What their thoughts might have been… their screams their panic, the children on board.  I know, without a doubt, that before… if I saw this on the news, I would have thought, ‘How sad,’ maybe would have said a short prayer and continued on in the comforts of my surroundings.  But now… the faces I saw online of eagerly waiting family members looked familiar to me.  They look like the faces I see here, at the airports, all around… What must those waiting to be executed be feeling in this moment?  Their families?  As their hearts race in those final seconds?  Lord wrap them in your arms.  Let them feel no pain.  Let them see in the Spirit.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jcolejr@suddenlink.net permalink
    March 14, 2014 7:29 pm

    Thank you for this. I will pray with you for those 33 john cole

Leave a Reply

