Skip to content

“My heart was smiling and I could feel it!”

November 22, 2013

Today is such a beautiful day!  And do you know why?  Because my daughter told me about her morning.  She began with a bright smile, “Momma, last night I was praying really hard to God and telling Him that I am sorry because I haven’t been doing my devotions every morning and sometimes when we pray I don’t really listen.  I was just really talking from my heart and asking Him to help me with everything because I want to see Him in everything I do… Like Daddy was telling me the other day, that I should see God in everything, like even if I’m sweeping or something, that I should be keeping the house clean for God, or with anything.  So when I got up this morning, I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  When I washed my face, I was thinking that I was getting ready to face the world for God, and when I brushed my teeth, I thought I am staying healthy so I can tell more people about God. And that I am getting up early, so I can do my school, and get smarter for God.” Her smile got bigger and the excitement grew as she continued, “And you know what is so cool, you know how God is just really funny sometimes!  I opened my Bible and I kept trying to open it to something but it kept falling open to my bookmark, so I just started reading there, and it was like he was talking right to me… It was in Deuteronomy!”  At this point she ran and got her Bible so she could read it to me… “Now what I am commanding you today is not too difficult for you or beyond your reach.  It is not up in heaven, so that you have to ask, ‘Who will ascend into heaven to get it and proclaim it to us so we may obey it?’ Nor is it beyond the sea, so that you have to ask, ‘Who will cross the sea to get it and proclaim it to us so we may obey it?’ No, the word is very near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart so you may obey it.  See I set before you today life and prosperity, death and destruction. For I command you today to Love the Lord your God, to walk in his ways, and to keep his commands, decrees and laws; then you will live and increase, and the Lord your God will bless you…” (Deuteronomy 30:11-16)  She stopped reading there.  “And Momma, you know how hard math has been for me.  Last night I was praying for God to help me in math too because I really hate it, or… really dislike it.”  She corrected herself because she knows I don’t like the word ‘hate’… 🙂  “Anyway, you know all those fractions I’ve been doing, and they’ve been so hard for me, well today, I didn’t even realize it, but I was flying right through them and getting them all right, and when I finished I was like Whoa, God! So you know if your just really praying to God with all your heart, and  just really wanting to live your life for Him, he answers you! It’s like my heart was smiling and I could feel it!”

What a lesson for my 13 year old to learn and embrace.  I just told her not to forget it and I was so excited for her.  You know what else is beautiful about today??  At the new church last Sunday, we had around 40 children, which is totally awesome right! But man did I have a massive headache by the time we got home, for one reason, and one reason alone, and that was trying to keep all those children safe, next to a busy, well-travelled road, especially for buses and big vegetable trucks.  They are a lively bunch and kept racing toward the (very near) street, as they played and kept my heart a-pumping.  You might be asking what’s beautiful in that?? Well, it’s the way God worked in it all… I was talking with another american couple we have met a few times before, that have a ministry here.  We were about to head to the new church and I was asking them to keep the children’s safety in their prayers, as I explained about the road.  That’s when they told us they could make us a fence, no hesitation.  They explained that their business in the states is fence making!  Of course! 🙂   So the man came out and made some measurements and will start installing it tomorrow!  When I texted his wife to express our gratitude.  She texted back,

God is good. He answers our prayers. We are glad to help.

My heart was smiling and I could feel it!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2013 2:46 am

    Tell your daughter that it was a good lesson for all of us to learn, too, as we read about it. XOXOXO Thank you for sharing your life with us.

  2. Loraine Millican permalink
    November 22, 2013 3:03 am

    that is a beautiful story!goodnight and I love you!

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4 Active™, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

