Skip to content

Interrupted by Reality

April 15, 2013

Sometimes I imagine myself sitting on my porch, with a light breeze rustling through the leaves of the trees, reaching the loose strands of my hair and stirring up the wind chimes.  Forgive me for my cheesiness, but, yes… there is a cool glass of lemonade in my hand.  The kids are playing in the distance and their laughter fills the air.  My husband is working in our vegetable garden as the sun goes down, casting a beautiful display of colors across the sky.

And then I am interrupted by reality…

I wipe the sweat dripping from my brow before it can reach my eyes and sting.  The air is still and humid because of the earlier rain, and the earth is slippery as we hike up the soiled trail.  I have a warm bottle of water in my hand.  “Momma, are we almost there,” my five year old wines, as my husband holds back the wet vegetation so we can pass through.  For a moment I can only think of collapsing onto the ground for a minute to rest because I just can’t take another step.  And then I see them… children running down the trail to meet us because they are so excited we have come.  Somehow, I no longer desire the breeze, lemonade, or lazy afternoon bliss.  I suddenly get a second wind and prance forward with the children tugging my arms, hurrying me along.  We make it to the top, out of breath and wet, with the threat of rain looming overhead.  But there is not a face without a smile, nor a heart wishing they were anywhere else on earth, but right there, in the midst of serving our mighty God, who is smiling with us.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2013 12:21 pm

    This was so beautiful to read this morning. I wanted the lemonade dream for you too and then when I read the second part, it made my heart so warm and happy. I absolutely love reading your updates. Sometimes I go back several months prior just to re-read them. God Bless You, your beautiful family and all of the people that ya’ll are helping every day!

  2. April 16, 2013 1:54 pm

    I AM WITH YOU ON THAT PORCH MANDI AND I KNOW THE REALITY. YOU PUT IT ALL SO BEAUTIFULLY. I CAN SEE THE SMILES AND THAT IS BEAUTIFUL

Leave a Reply

