Skip to content

My Father’s Arms

September 18, 2012

Something happened today… I woke up and started getting the girls ready for school and as I sat signing their notebooks, I got really sick to my stomach… you know the kind where you start sweating and your mouth starts to water. I needed to get in front of a fan immediately. So I grabbed a bucket and laid in the bed with the fan blowing right in my pale, clammy face. John had just got up and finished the task I had started. He felt my head and told me to just stay home today. I argued for a split second but I knew that I certainly did not feel like going anywhere. Man was I ever glad I listened because shortly after they left, I got the worst case of diarrhea I have ever had. I know that might be a little disgusting for me to share with you, especially if you’re eating while you read this, but it’s just the plain truth… and I have a point to it all… Really I do! The nausea would not seise for most of the day. My body ached and so did my stomach. Any and all food sounded, looked, and smelled horrid! I stayed in bed all day. I couldn’t even get on the computer without feeling like I was going to hurl all over it. Anyhow, really I have a point… 🙂

Now’s the time to tell you about Kendall, my twelve year old girl. She cut her foot on a barbed wire today and hit her head and was just feeling really down about her bad day. She came in our room crying and mainly looking for some love and sympathy. John sat her on his lap and told her all the good things about her and sang her a song. I watched and smiled as they sat next to me and was reminded of my past. I told John that I remember being about Kendall’s age and just really feeling horrible. I was sick with something and my dad came to the couch, where I was laying, and held me in his arms and completely took the pain away. I remember that I was kind of in awe at how his body just seemed to soak up all the pain right out of me.

We had a Skype meeting with some mentors and great Christian encouragers back home in Texas tonight. I was embarrassed to be in the background of the picture laying in the bed so I tried to hide and told John to avert the light that was shining on me. But John, of course told them all the lovely details about my illness and they told him to lay hands on me and we all prayed together. That was a few hours ago and right now I feel like eating a whole cow. 🙂 Thank you Lord for healing me and thank you Lord for praying friends and thank you Lord for the cookies John bought earlier today! But most of all Lord, thank you for showing me that you are my father and if I just lean on you, you can take away all my pain.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John T Sneed permalink
    September 18, 2012 3:15 pm

    MANDI, WHAT A WONDERFUL MEMORY. I WOULD WISH THAT FOR ALL CHILDREN ANDTHEIR DADS

          IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THEIR IS A LOT OF STOMACH STUFF AND DIARRAEH  THERE. IGUESS ITS INTHE WATER. YOU NEED A LOT OF

    HAND SANITISER HERE ITHINK IT IS EVERYWHERE.

         WE ARE ALL DOING WELL  .WISH I COULD SEE   EVERYBODY XOXOXOXOXOXOXO

           MORE LATER I AM TAKING MOM TO DOC THIS MORNING

                                                                                                                             WITH LOVE FOR ALL GRANNIE

     

    ________________________________

  2. September 18, 2012 3:25 pm

    That just brought me to tears. You are amazing! All of you are.

Leave a Reply

