Skip to content

More Than One Way To Eat An Avocado…

July 3, 2012

The funniest thing happened the other day… We were given a bag full of fresh avocados picked from a neighbor’s tree. We were very excited because Mexican food is probably what our tastebuds miss the most. I cut them open, scraped out the insides, chopped up some garlic, added salt, pepper, and small limes. The friend who gave the avocados was very interested in how I was preparing them. When I was done, I tasted it and was thoroughly satisfied with my own brand of guacamole. I thought ‘they are going to love this;’ especially because they eat salt and garlic with most everything… except avocados that is πŸ˜‰ My friend tried it, and I watched as her face contorted into expressions of disgust. She yelled in such a way that it was very obvious she did not like it. Then, we had several visitors stop by and she would have them try my concoction. One by one they contorted their faces and one even spit it out right then and there. The funniest, though, was one of the younger girls. She saw it on the table and excitedly proclaimed… “Oh, my favorite!” So she got a huge spoon full and put it in her mouth and tried to respectfully swallow it. Liam (my 8 yr old) thought it was the funniest thing ever and was rolling in laughter. We all laughed, mainly because Liam thought it was so funny. The people said they would show us how to eat an avocado, which involves (asukal at gatas)… That is sugar and milk. Ick! I told them I would try it but I am not so sure about that one.

Okay… on to the next topic… If you have a weak stomach I would stop reading at this point. That medicine Angel drank did the trick. She pooped out worms for a solid week. No pun intended. πŸ˜‰ One of those days I was washing the dishes and Angel started screaming and crying, “Momma, my worm, my worm!” So I ran into the bathroom and discovered that the worms were stuck. I tried calming her down and said, “It’s okay, it’s okay, just push.” “I can’t!” she cried. So… I did what every mother would do… I grabbed and pulled!…………………. She stopped crying and we flushed them down and everything was okay… When I told John he asked, “Did you use the gloves?” ……………….. I said, “I wasn’t going to leave her there screaming while I ran to find the gloves!

All I have to say besides, OH MY GOODNESS… I can’t believe I just did that, is that it was a good thing I was there with her, at the time, instead of John, for both their sakes… πŸ˜‰ I would say that, all in all, about 50 of those worms came out! FIFTY!

We had the opportunity to go to a village in the mountains last weekend to fellowship with the people there. They were a very loving people and they had so little. We had a good fellowship with the kids there. They taught us a new song and we taught them one as well. The village was neat but scary in places because it was very steep. But all the children ran around close to the edges like it was nothing. We even had to climb down a rocky edge to get to the kitchen area. John and I both shared our testimonies and we cried the entire time. Riley said, “Momma that’s the first time I heard you tell your testimony.” I hadn’t realized that. He and Kendall made us laugh because they both reenacted how they were trying not to cry when they were listening to us, but like father like son and like mother like daughter… πŸ˜‰

And now for the kids homework assignment… Riley asked me to please not put his on here, as he is a 13 yr old boy. Kendall, however, my 11, soon to be 12 yr old, gave me permission to publish hers on here for you all to read. Her writing is just like she is… very dramatic…

………

I am but a small lamb in such a big flock. I am but a small child in a big store. I am but a small child of God in a big world. And I am in the Philippines. I have the story of my life in two COMPLETE different worlds, that might just change your heart into something new.

I thought my life was at ease until we came here. I feel so selfish that I just wanted to sit and relax in Colorado. Life here is so much different than in America. For one, there are no tricycles and here there’s tons! And the way they live is so much different too; the way they eat, talk, and so on.

We never had rice in our dish but here they eat it three times a day. And we barely had fish, but here they eat it all the time. They have mini stores that kind of look like small concession stands. I would never go to the store by myself in America, but here I go almost every day. And they don’t have machines like we do. They hand wash their clothes, and hand wash their dishes. Their hands do their stuff, while the place we live has smoke filling the sky because of so many machines.

And the houses are really poor looking compared to our houses and it’s like we have one billion dollars! And our seasons are different. We have Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter, but their seasons are dry season. That’s when it’s really hot, dry, and sweaty. And there’s rainy season, when it’s raining all day and there are so many houses being flooded. And sometimes there are typhoons everywhere.

I just wish that everyone would stop wanting more and more and just try to live without greed. We have so much when they have nothing. And we know Jesus but many people suffer in hell. So if you hear my words, just please listen. If God is telling you to do something for others, don’t turn away from him. He just wants all his children to go to Heaven!!

Kendall Wilson… (Comparison Writing Assignment)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris & Trish permalink
    July 3, 2012 4:43 am

    Gaaaaaaaross!!!!! It’s even worse in writing πŸ™‚ And I LOVE your paper Kendall – I can’t wait to read your book one day! Love you sweet girl ~ see you soon πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

