Skip to content

I Have Been Avoiding You…

June 2, 2012

Blog Smog! I have been avoiding you… My goal and plan was to write at least once a week… So much for that… If I had been writing, all you would read about is my weakness, frustration, sadness, and confusion… And therefore, my avoidance of blogging. Doing the ‘Lord’s work the Lord’s way’ is easier said than done. But you know what… I am good and the Lord is always with me. I was really, and I mean really, missing home and normalcy A LOT, but God showed me something yesterday and the day before. He showed me how much I would miss it if I left here and how much there is still left to do… besides being stuck in my valley.

We went to Manilla for two days for two reasons… to go to the U.S. embassy and the Philippine immigration. Along with being in The Philippines, the U.S. embassy is a place I never expected to be. I kept picturing a movie I watched many years ago, where a girl was trying to run into the embassy before being caught by the bad guys. It felt so movie-ish. 😉 But let me start from the beginning of the movie… We rode two tricycles at midnight to catch a bus that was to leave at 1:00a.m. We had to ride two tricycles because we can’t all fit on one because there were eight of us. We had a friend come with us who knows Manilla… and speaks the language… 🙂 The people who took us in the tricycle are friends also, who volunteered to take us at that hour despite having to get up before the crack of dawn. A feeling of sorrow came over me as we boarded the bus, leaving those people behind. We were only to be gone for 2 days but I was really going to miss them. That is when it first hit me at how much they all mean to me. And I realized that all this missing home business was just getting in the way. There will come a time when I really will be leaving them for good, and I really don’t want to. That will be such a sad day.

Okay, so we rode the bus… me, John, our five kids, and our friend, who got us a discount for Liam, Angel, and Neely. 😉 There were maybe ten other people on it, and ‘Oh my goodness’ the bus driver drove like he was in a race, and John suggested that we hold Neely and Angel who were sleeping so that they wouldn’t go flying at all the sudden stops. Needless to say, neither of us got much sleep. We arrived at like 5:30 in the morning and the streets were already buzzing… the markets full… Angel woke up and we were laughing because she was excitedly shouting and pointing at everything as she had never seen anything like Manilla before. It is a very big city with millions of people, horrible traffic, and many, many, ‘street children.’ They are everywhere, literally living in the streets. After we spent the day at the embassy and immigration, we met up with a Pastor who lives in Manilla. A twenty minute destination turned into a two hour ordeal because of the traffic. I had never seen such a thing and to describe it would not do the scene justice… people everywhere! He took us to eat and at a restaurant where they cook the food right in the middle of your table, fresh crab, shrimp, squid, fish balls, oysters… I really wish I liked seafood… and of course rice. 🙂 Liam started laughing and proceeded to crack up as he explained to me what he had just seen. “Momma! These boys were playing with me out the window and the policeman just came up and spanked their hinies.” He couldn’t believe it. And they came back to the window, four or five of them and the policeman kicked them. The policeman didn’t do it hard and they were laughing with Liam through the window as they danced and tried to entertain. The Pastor told us about how there is such a problem with all the street kids and how one day when he had volunteered with some. Apparently some had gotten into trouble and were arrested and detained for a while. There were not enough workers to deal with all the kids so he volunteered and took some of them back to where they stayed. He said that when he took one boy back, they had been searching for him everywhere and the mother had died looking for him. It absolutely breaks my heart!!! And many of these kids are addicted to a drug called rugby, which is why we were told to only give food, not money. I mentioned to John, on the bus ride home… “Maybe we can open up an orphanage.” Now that is a long shot and I am sure more paperwork than we could endure… but seriously… What can one do? God, please help these children. Please help all these people… I wish I was rich so that I could give it all away… But I am not. I am here though, and honestly I could travel alone now and know what to do and what to say. I am not afraid or uncomfortable at all anymore. I feel peaceful and at home. I guarantee you it only comes from God because it is so not a characteristic of mine. Can I ask something of you all… Will you pray with me for all the children, not just here, but all over this crazy world… children that starve, that have no place to rest, that endure life at it’s hardest. Lord forgive us for allowing this to happen. Show us what we can do… Amen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2012 2:24 pm

    I’ve missed you. And yes. I will pray. I will pray for god’s children that starve… that have no place to rest… that endure life at its hardest…. for the special people that He sends to show them His love. ♥ ♥ ♥

  2. June 3, 2012 2:43 pm

    Lord have mercy on me and on the whole world.
    My thought and prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

