Skip to content

But with breath in our nostrils…

April 25, 2012

Thank you to everyone praying for Cailey. That is Kendall’s best friend, and the daughter of my dear friend, and I just could not sit still over here on the other side of the world… But thank you Lord… she is doing much better. Kendall told me that she looked up a bunch of verses for Cailey about friendship… Here are a few she read to me…

John 15:12-13 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

Zechariah 13:6 If someone asks him, ‘What are these wounds on your body?’ he will answer, ‘The wounds I was given at the house of my friends.’

After reading this one she said, “Momma, what does this verse mean?” And me, having soap all over my hands, from washing the dishes, asked her to hold up her notebook so I could read it. (I am a visual person :)) I said, “Well, from what I can tell, it is probably talking about Jesus, you know how He was wounded and died on the cross for our sins, not His own.” She said, “Yes.” “Well,” I said, “That’s you and me… We’re His friends but we are also the sinners He died for.” She said, “Oh… well I’m trying to find a good one that shows like when a friend is sick and your supposed to help them…” 😉

Then she read me a few more, that weren’t really what she was looking for, but they were sure speaking to me…

James 4:4 You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world is hatred toward God? Anyone who chooses to be a friend to the world becomes an enemy of God.

Now let me add another to that… Isaiah 2:22 Stop trusting in man, who has but breath in his nostrils. Of what account is he?

This verse helped me to get through some stuff this week. I am a ‘people pleaser’ and it physically hurts me to feel like I have let someone down. Because of this syndrome, I have a hard time telling people no, or I try to be every where at once. But I learned that it was my selfish desire to please people, that was getting in the way of serving the Lord. I don’t want to be a friend to the world, to people, who are but with breath in our nostrils. My sole devotion and effort should be to the one who put that breath in our nostrils.

Why can’t I just stay focussed?!?! I am trying to do too much and in my own strength and it is not working… because I am one weak person. It makes me frustrated and tired and irritable. One night, everyone was asleep and I was talking to God and I said Lord I just need to hear from You. I don’t even know what I need to hear but I am so tired Lord. I just need You to talk to me. So I walked around in the dark with a flash light to avoid waking anyone up and I could not find a single Bible. I was speaking very loudly in my head, saying ‘where are the bagillion Bibles we have around here?!?!’ I could not find a single one, but I shined the flashlight on a book that was titled “The Lord’s Work Done in the Lord’s Way,” which definitely caught my attention. I grabbed it, went to the table, put the light on my head, and started reading.

Is your life full of suspense, frustration and discouragement? Are you worried about
the future? Are you anxious and frustrated, discouraged in the ministry and ready
to quit? Are you one saying, “This ministry stuff is hard. It’s not fair. I just
want to do some ordinary job and have a normal life again?” Maybe you need to learn
from the life of the prophet Isaiah…
K.P. Yohannan

:)…

Then he went on to talk about Isaiah and verses 6:1-3 and about how Isaiah was a preacher and good at it but he had anger. Then he saw God and it changed everything!!! Now I am not saying it nearly as well as Yohannan does. So I will directly quote the rest because… well… there’s just no way for me to put it as good as he does and as good as it was for me to read that night.

Please understand. Isaiah’s ministry was preaching! He was a powerful orator – a
prophet! But suddenly, as he stood in God’s presence with the veiled seraphim, he
saw how his work, all his service was just filthy rags because it was done in his own
strength. He was striving and sweating doing the ministry.

The same thing can happen to us when we come into His presence. Our strength,
abilities and success become of no importance. In His presence, all else becomes
shadows. The strength and effort of ourselves are exposed for the frailty they are
compared to His…

We must continually see the Lord…

My brothers and sisters, this is the way to live! Let us lay down our striving and
our sweat and do His work His way. Then there is nothing to get frustrated and
worked up about, and our lives bear good fruit that endures for all eternity…

Um I can think of only one title that might be better for this book… “Dear Mandi…” 🙂 I thanked the Lord for showing me what I needed to hear. I was becoming too busy for God. What a terrible position to put myself in. That is why I am here… and nothing… I mean absolutely nothing… will happen for the glory of God through me if I do it in my own strength.

Job 42:1-6 Then Job replied to the Lord: “I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted. You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’ Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know. You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’ My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you. Therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes.”

… a lesson Job learned is also the lesson I needed to learn…

And now a funny… Did I mention that I saw a whole dog cooking being swung back and forth over a fire. Well, I did… I also heard a pig squealing or should I say screaming horribly at 1:30 in the morning outside my window because our neighbors were killing it and preceded to chop on it all night long for a party the next day. It woke all of us up except for Neely and Angel. Kendall made me laugh because she immediately covered her feet. I think she was thinking of that movie “The Other Side of Heaven,” where the missionary gets the souls of his feet chewed on by rats. 😉 Anyway, John told the kids we are getting a dog and Angel was talking about it one day when we were walking… It went something like this… “Mmmm Momma… mmm Neely, Riley, Kendall, Weelam (Liam), me, Momma, Daddy, mmm puppy… No eat Momma… no eat…,” as she shook her head like she understood it would solely be our pet. Poor thing, I know it’s just a part of people’s lives here to eat a dog that gets sick, but I wondered what she has endured… Even now… she eats the eyeballs of the fish and loves them. She is no picky eater whatsoever and has even made Neely proclaim to like fish. When Neely sees how much Angel likes them, she keeps trying to convince herself that they must be yummy. It cracks me up to see the faces Neely makes but keeps eating anyway simply because Angel makes it look so good. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris & Trish permalink
    April 25, 2012 3:33 pm

    Thank y’all for praying for Cailey!! I can’t wait to tell you all that has happened. It has been a horrible, crazy, wonderful time. God has been so close, holding me steady and taking my vulnerability at this time and using it to mold me even further into the person He created me to be – one that is in constant fellowship with Him. Tell Kendall, Cailey is doing so much better. The kind of bacterial meningitis she has isn’t the kind that you think of when they shut down the schools – hers isn’t contagious and it isn’t inside her brain. The bacteria in her sinuses somehow passed into her skull but it is on the outside of the balloon surrounding her brain. This sounds better to me but every time I say that the doctors remind me that it is still a very serious illness. We know our God is bigger though!! Cailey is watching the Parent Trap right now and she said the little girls remind her of her and Kendall. She says she wishes her and Kendall could be twins too. I told her they were close – they are sisters in Christ and there is only a month and a half difference in their age 🙂 We love y’all!!

  2. April 26, 2012 10:00 pm

    Thanks Mandi, You blessed my heart with your post about, “breath in our nostrils… “. And I will be looking K P Yohannan’s book…. ” The Lord’s work done the Lord’s way”. My best to you all, tell John hello for me. Blessings to you all. By the way…. What do you need? Jim Rice Bedias Baptist…. Iola Texas

  3. May 20, 2012 5:54 pm

    Continued thought with prayer for Wilson 6 (7) and Angel. So Glad Cailey is well. Everything you do affects so many lives in a wonderful way. May Gods strength be with you my dear friends John and Mandy.
    Jeff Wood
    Dry Home Construction

  4. May 20, 2012 5:55 pm

    Yeah, finally figured out how to communicate with you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

