Skip to content

January 29, 2012

It is Sunday night here for us. John didn’t preach today because he preaches every other Sunday. It has been a while since I have written so I don’t think you know that there were 11 more baptisms last Sunday down at the beach after the service! That is a total of 26 now!! 🙂 I taught my group of 7 and 8 yr olds again and I am really enjoying it. When I was reading the story in Tagalog and I mispronounced a word they would laugh and say, in unison, the correct way to pronounce it. Then I would say it correctly and tell them, “Salamat,” which means thank you. They are so cute and kept seeking my approval. I am trying to memorize all of there names without having a brain overload. There are so many and I know they like for me to know them by name. They have big smiles when I say Hey So In So! But… there are 28 in our youth and about 17 in the women’s group, and then there are the 16 kids in the school. 😉

I had the privilege of attending sewing school this past week from 8 in the morning to 5 pm in the evening. There were 4 Americans here that took their vacation time from work in the states to come here and bring sewing supplies and teach. There were about 12 women from this village and a neighboring village plus me and Kendall to take the class. I have never touched a sewing machine in my life and I was quite intimidated at first, but in a weeks time, I have sewn a coin purse, a tote bag, a pillow dress, and 1 and a half pairs of skorts, that’s a skirt with shorts on the inside… They were quite the teachers. And… once again… I find myself doing something I never expected! They left on Saturday and I really miss them. It is a strange feeling because I have only known them for a little over a week, but I don’t know, they felt sort of normal and part of me was like ‘No… don’t’ leave!’ There’s a strange comfort in being with people from back home.

sewing school

Every Saturday night we walk one of our youth girl’s home because her father won’t let her come otherwise. She wants to get baptized but her father is reluctant. John will go and talk to him again. 🙂

There is lots going on here but I will have to write again soon. I am about to Skype my very close friend, whom I miss so very much! She steered me to Christ when I needed Him most… the best kind of friend to have.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2012 5:33 pm

    I love the photos of the baptism and sewing class. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Your stories encourage me to step out of my comfort zone and be what He wants me to be. ♥ Much love to you ♥

Leave a Reply

