Skip to content

‘I am living in the Philippines’

January 17, 2012

Well I’ve done it… I am now teaching the Sunday School class for the 7 and 8 yr olds, which is about 30 children, that can’t speak English. The last time I tried it, it was a disaster. For one, because it’s outside under a tree, two because they didn’t understand a word I was saying, and three because it was a last minute thing. However, last Sunday I sat and watched what they are used to now. As I watched I wrote down a list of phrases I need to know like:

Please stand up (Tumayo kayong lahat)
Please move here (Pwede kayongumurong dito)
Do you understand (Naiindintihan niyo ba ako)
Repeat after me (Sumunod kayo pagkatapos ko)
Come here (Dito kayo)

I already know how to say things like ‘what’s your name’ or ‘how old are you’ or ‘God’, so we have something to work with. πŸ™‚ I also found a book in the Christian bookstore here, nothing like the ones back home! Nevertheless, it has stories for children in Tagalog and I can read it, even though I don’t particularly know what I am saying. πŸ˜‰ Thank God for the Spanish I took in college because the vowels are pronounced the same. Many of their words are the same in Spanish but spelled differently. Like cheese is Spanish is queso, in Tagalog it’s keso… pronounced the same. Anyway, I just thought I’d share that with you… I get excited because sometimes now I understand conversations spoken in Tagalog, or the jest of some of them anyway.

I have the women’s group tomorrow and I always get nervous but it always seems to go well. Last Wednesday the women told me that there was a funeral that morning for a young mother. No one was sure of her age but she was probably in her early thirties. She had 5 kids and was pregnant with her sixth. She tried to abort the child at 7 months and was poisoned. Now, 5 children are motherless. Abortion is a problem here. Some mothers wonder how on Earth they are going to feed the kids that they do have… Now who will feed them? There is a woman here who is missing her eye due to an abortion attempt when she was in her mother’s womb. She has some precious children but they are so poor. There is no possible way for that family to stay dry during the rainy season. They are missing an entire outside wall…

Before I started writing I didn’t know where this writing session would take me but I certainly didn’t expect it to lead here. Honestly it’s hard for me to take this all in sometimes and I have literally spoken out loud to myself, reminding myself of the situation… that I am living in the Philippines… that I never in a million years would have ever dreamt this up for myself. And in the midst of thinking ‘what on Earth am I doing here,’ I remember that I prayed for a new life, a God centered life, with a God centered husband. I guess I didn’t really know what I was asking for. But God did, He always knew! And we are good. All of us are… I home schooled the kids this morning and taught them about predicate nominatives, appositives, direct and indirect objects. And I laughed with God because I felt silly teaching them crazy things like this from my little bitty house in the Philippines.

Alrighty well it is 11:18 pm here, which means that it is waaaaaayyyy past my bed time and it’s probably not good for me to write when I am so tired because who knows what will come out of my mouth/fingers πŸ˜‰

Love to you all. I pray for you when you pop into my head and you so often do, so many of you… Thank you for your prayers!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 5:01 pm

    Mandi,

    I am praying for all of you and the people you are ministering to. I pray for you to feel encouraged and uplifted, knowing that you are doing the will of God! I am amazed by you!

    Love,

    Jenny

  2. January 17, 2012 9:58 pm

    Hi Wilson family,
    Just wanted to say hello and we miss seeing you. Ms. Betty is doing well, but misses her old neighbors. I am sure it is an adjustment, but you are right God knows what he is doing and he will take care of all of you. We are having our heat wave, in the 70″s, here for the past 2 days. Should cool off again soon. Jami is off at college in Washington, D. C. We miss her. She is doing great though. We are proud of her. Saw Amy the other day. She looks good and is missing all of you. Proud to hear her kids are doing so well. Here is my email address kaye1161@aol.com. Take care and May God’s Blessings be with you always.
    Kaye Carlisle

Leave a Reply

