Skip to content

Quite a day…

January 8, 2012

It has been quite a day. John preached this morning. He’s so funny… he gets nervous and spends a lot of time in the bathroom on the mornings he preaches. Who am I kidding? I get nervous for him. But like our pastor told him… if you don’t get nervous to deliver God’s word then there is something wrong (more or less anyway) 🙂 He likes for me to be in there so I can give him feedback. I can’t even look at him. I sit and listen and read my Bible because I’m afraid if I make eye contact, it will mess him up. But today he said, “Every time I look at you you’re looking down.” He assured me that I won’t mess him up and it would help if I gave him an encouraging nod 🙂 Anyway, the service went great and so many people went up to the front for prayer. When the service was over, we walked down to the beach and 12 people were baptized. So please keep these people in your prayers. We are bonding more with our youth, which has been a steady 23. There are 8 boys, including Riley and about 5 of them don’t speak English very well, although their English is much better than my Tagalog, that is for sure! There is one boy, that I really like. He was so quiet at first, but he has been opening up more and more and he really seems to bond with John. His name is Michael and he is 14. He has an older brother, Menard (still very quiet) who is maybe a year or two older. These boys have been living here only a few years. They were living on the streets, where their dad had left them. Their aunt went and found them and took them in. They now live with her and her son and her father in a one room home right by the water. And I really don’t know how they stay dry with the condition of their home. Their aunt is such a hard worker who always has a smile on her face, and has a humungous heart! Michael got her smile and he makes me laugh because he is a jokester. Last night, at our youth fellowship, he gave John a letter of thanks and a hug.

Neely starts back at school tomorrow from the Christmas and New Years break. She is very excited about that! We will see more of Angel now. We have seen her here and there in the village, running around shoeless, with tattered clothes, and covered in dirt, but always smiling from ear to ear. The other day, I think it was Friday… she, along with about 15 other children, followed John and I home from the village. John stopped to pick some bright red flowers from the trees and gave one to each of the girls, who brought them to me to put in their hair. I told them, “Maganda!” That means beautiful and they repeated me and giggled. Then one of the boys had brought a rubber tire up and John would roll it down the hill while the boys chased it and laughed. When we left them, they stood at the gate and yelled “Paalam,” that means goodbye, until we were no longer within their sights. I would love to just fit them all in a suitcase and take them home with me. 🙂

The reason we were in the village on Friday is because many of the villagers, 15 families to be exact, had to demolish their homes and move to a new location, some just a few feet away because the land owners came from California and wanted them off their land. Many of them have been here their whole lives. So John came and helped them take apart their homes. It was a foot in the door with some of the men!! Keep praying!!

Okay time for rest. Much love to you all!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 1:43 pm

    Thank you so much for your faithfulness!! I look SOO forward to hearing about your life & world and continue to pray for you and your precious family~so thank you for your sharing with us. You are touching the lives of so many and the love of the Lord is painting the portrait of the Body of Christ in the Phillipines through your efforts. You bless my life by living yours~thank you again.

  2. January 9, 2012 6:24 pm

    If John had not TOLD you that he needed you to look at him, you would have continued to THINK that you were helping him by not looking at him, and he would have begin to resent it. This is a perfect example of why communication is so important. Little things can turn in to big things if we do not keep the lines of communication open and talk about EVERYTHING! Thank you for pointing this out to me in your post! You all have my prayers, XOXOX

Leave a Reply

