Skip to content

She Melted My Heart

November 27, 2011

Sorry for the delay. We have been out of internet service for the past few days. But we were able to go into town today and get that all straightened out. We went as a family and, I for one, am starting to feel more comfortable with everything. Every time we go, there are children or mothers with babies that beg and follow you until you enter where you are going. That is always hard and I don’t see that getting any easier.

Riley is perfectly fine now. Thank you so much for all your prayers. There is to be no more running down stairs whatsoever!! Momma’s orders! πŸ™‚

We have been busy. I am trying to think back on everything that has transpired since the last time I wrote and my brain won’t let me go beyond yesterday… We went to the neighboring village again and there were a lot more children this time. Riley played the guitar and everyone sang along with him, “How Great is Our God.” It is funny how Riley is here. He doesn’t seem to be shy or afraid. He just goes with the flow, even with all the girls giggling over him. Kendall, on the other hand, has been very shy and quiet. She has always been my outgoing child, a leader who gets involved right away. So I was a little concerned and talked to her a few times about smiling and being herself, but she was still standoffish. So I had a talk with God about her… Today, at church, she was up on stage singing, because she is part of the children’s choir, and tears were pouring down her face. It made me cry too and a few others, like the music leader. I asked her later if everything was okay and she said she was happy. Then, out of the blue, she came out of her shell. She was goofing around with her new friends. Thank you Lord! My kids are so impressed with the voices of these kids. They sing like Angels. The music at church lasted maybe an hour or more. The people here love to sing. Riley and Liam are learning how to play the drums and Kendall is learning the keyboard.

John has been working on building the new school and our house. He led the adult lesson at the neighboring village yesterday and helped with the praise and worship team and then led the Saturday night youth. There still aren’t many men from the village coming to church. John is praying about how to reach the men.

I am praying about how to reach the women. There is a women’s Bible study on Wednesday, which I am now leading. I did a lesson that went a lot quicker than I had intended. I had everything planned out but I flew right through it and was done in maybe ten minutes. I am not sure if they all understood. It is so hard for me to teach here, whether it be women or children. For one, I have never taught a women’s group, and two, we are outside under a tree. At home, I could just pull up a lesson on the internet, stop by Walmart to get the materials I needed, etc… Here I have to talk the whole time. πŸ™‚ I know I need to let the Holy Spirit lead. So pray for me, that I learn how to do this. I am going to tell the women this next Bible study, that I want to spend a day with each of them and hep them with their daily tasks. I am here to serve. Maybe they will be able to open up to me more and I can better minister to them.

Just a few more things I wanted to add… I noticed today that Angel, the little girl from Neely’s school, has some kind of issue with her stomach or back. I asked Belinda if she has scoliosis or something because her stomach pokes out strangely, maybe from her back curving. Belinda said she thinks Angel has worms, the kind you get from undercooked pork and that she has researched it and confronted the people about this issue but they are superstitious about taking the medicine. She said it makes the worms come out of the nose and ears and so they don’t do it. Anyway, I want to help her. She has lice eggs all in her hair and her teeth are rotten. A lot of these children’s teeth are rotten. Another thing I learned today… there is an adorable little girl that is maybe four, if that, and she walks to church all by herself every Sunday wearing the same dress, lots of times with no shoes. She melted my heart.

Time for sleep. Love to all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JoJo permalink
    November 28, 2011 2:36 am

    Hey, how long does it take to send a package where you are? What is the address? Sorry if you have given this info and I missed it. πŸ™‚ I really enjoy the post. Melts my heart.
    Praying for your family and the ladies hearts you are reaching w/ the Gospel. πŸ™‚

  2. Loraine Millican permalink
    November 28, 2011 12:26 pm

    Mandi it is so good to hear from you! I am glad to hear Riley is better. I am glad Kendall is feeling more like herself. I had always prayed that the musical side would show up. That is wonderful news! Tell all the kids hello! I check the emails and computers daily. I am glad the internet is working again! I hope something can be done to help the two little girls. Let me know if we can help in any way, I love you all so much! Mom

  3. Debbie Hilz permalink
    November 30, 2011 9:25 pm

    Hi Mandi and Family! I have you on my prayer list, and am loving what you guys are doing! Let me know what you guys need and send me your mailing address! Stay safe and God Bless! Love you all! Aunt Debbie

  4. Jerry permalink
    December 1, 2011 7:45 am

    I’m praying for y’all. My watch alarm is set for 6p each day to remind me.

  5. Denisa permalink
    December 12, 2011 4:09 pm

    Girl we miss y’all, BUT I know y’all are doing Gods work!!!! What a blessing!!! PLEASE tell Neeley Mrs. D said hello and give her a HUGE hug for me!!!! Keep the faith sister….God is with y’all. Love y’all Mrs. D

Leave a Reply

