Skip to content

tylenol and a baggie of cold water

November 21, 2011

Church was good. It was mostly in Tagalog so I mainly just sat there and smiled and prayed for the Holy Spirit to move and fill the building. I gave lots of hugs and then Belinda asked me to come up front and help them learn the chorus to the song John sang, ‘How Great Thou Art.’ I have decided that shyness is not an option and so I stood up there and sang with my eyes closed and my hand raised, with my other hand holding Neely, who snuck up there with me, and tears rolling down my face. It’s funny, back at home I would have been terrified to stand in front of the church and do that. Here, I am a different person. I just try to focus on pleasing God šŸ™‚

The first meeting with the youth was a success. I didn’t get to go because I wasn’t feeling too good but John told me all about it. There were 19 of them, including Riley. John led a lesson on faith and he and Riley said it went well. They have Tagalog Bibles and the verses are read in English and Tagalog. Sometimes one of the girls who understands English pretty well translates. Then they played Ming Pow Chu. šŸ™‚ It is a game that John found on the internet and played it with our Awanas. They loved it and laughed a lot.

I am having a slight case of mother panic again… Riley was running and lost his footing down some steps, ended up doing a front flip and landed on his back. He laughed about it and came back with a bloody knee/foot. Since time has passed, it has become more painful and he can hardly walk on his ankle. I gave him tylenol and put a baggie of cold water on his foot. It helped but we could sure use your prayers.

Well… there went the beeper telling me the rice is ready. I am already tired of rice. šŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl Ellis permalink
    November 21, 2011 2:42 pm

    Thank you Lord that your arm is not short! That you for touching Riley’s body and let the healing power be manifest in his body. Trauma, fractures, anything that is out of line whith how you created Riley’s body is called into alignment now in the name of Jesus for it is written by HIS stripes Riley is healed! Thank you for the obedience of your servants and that signs & wonders follow them who believe ! Praise your Holy Name and thank for your WORD that does not return void but accomplishes what it is sent to do!

  2. Chena Meche permalink
    November 21, 2011 7:04 pm

    I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of you! You are a true Kingdom worker to put your own comforts aside and stand for the cause of the gospel. I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ!!! My prayers are with you and I pray that you will grow very fond of rice! ahha! I love the pictures. If you get the opportunity – and the internet – don’t forget you can listen to Pastor Ron Nissen’s messages from each Sunday – at Elimoasis.org. Yesterdays message was a masterpiece and all of y’all will love it. Did Riley fall on the steps leading down to the house? Tell our mighty man of valor to slow down!

  3. GRANNIE permalink
    November 23, 2011 3:35 am

    TODAY IS TUE 22ND THANKSGIVING IS THUR 24TH WE WILL BE HAVING DINNER FRI AT RAINE,S AND WES LIFE SOUNDS BUSY THERE BUT ALSO REWARDING HANG IN THERE YOU WILL GET USED TO THE RICE GOD BLESS YOU ALL AND LOVE TO ALL

  4. Jenny permalink
    November 24, 2011 12:37 am

    Hey Mandi! I am so excited for you guys, and praying for you all! Praying for healing for Riley. And just remember, every time you eat rice, you are storing up treasures in heaven!!! šŸ™‚ Love, Jenny.

  5. Loraine Millican permalink
    November 25, 2011 4:34 am

    Mandi, I hope all is well with everyone. May God Bless you sweet heart. Is Riley better? Kiss all the kids for me. I love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

