Skip to content

November 20, 2011

Yay! John got internet from our room, which means that I don’t have to hike up the hill to the church to receive service. Thank you for all the comments left via Facebook or blog. I read them all and cherish them all, and will try to write back soon. For now, I am trying to stay on top of blogging. It is 6:30 Sunday morning here and the sun is blaring through the window. I have been waking up anywhere from 2:30 every morning to 5:00. That is because I crash at 7:30 at night. I just can’t make it beyond then. I told John that I hope there comes a time when I don’t feel so completely exhausted. Right now I am looking at the kids sleeping on the floor at the end of our bed. Our house is not ready yet but I will be so happy when it is. They are putting in new windows with screens and building bunk beds for the kids. It is one room, just like what we are staying in now, but it will be absolutely perfect… especially because it is a closer walk to everything. πŸ™‚

Yesterday, I went to town (Alaminos) with Belinda, who is Pastor Ed’s wife, and Zorata, who is one of the villagers. I brought along Neely and it was her first time. She kept holding her nose and saying… It stinks! I explained to her that holding her nose might hurt the people’s feelings and she put it down but kept putting it back up. Everyone has always stared at us in town, but with Neely, they were really staring and talking to her and calling her beautiful. She kept grabbing on to my leg and tried her best to ignore them. It will take some getting used to for her to be comfortable in town. After we got back, our whole family traveled with Pastor Ed and a few of the villagers to another village of farmers. (By the way, ours is a fishing village.) We prayed and sang and then the kids all moved to another open area outside while the adults had Bible study. The kids taught us a song in Tagalog and we taught them ‘This Little light of Mine’, in English. I learned from the song that dito means here and duon means there and amaysaya means happy. πŸ™‚ I will know this language! I really want to communicate with them in their language!

After returning, we went into the village by us to help set up for a birthday party. It was one of the girl’s 18th birthday and so it was a big celebration. There were so many people there and it was the kids first time in the village. Neely, of course, took off with her friends. Everyone is her best friend. (Her words, not mine πŸ™‚ ) Liam, our seven year old son, was the next to go. He took off running with some boys and ran and ran and ran. He was so red and sweaty! I said Liam why do you keep running so much? And he said because they keep trying to get me! I said Liam, I think they are just trying to show you they are your friend. And they do that by touching you. He said no they are trying to get me and took off again. πŸ™‚ Their culture is very touchy feely. They put their arms around you, hold your hand, grab your arm… I have to get used to it myself. Riley, our 13 yr old son, and Kendall, our 11 yr old daughter, stayed near me until they were coaxed off by other children their age. From then on, all I had to do to find my children was look for a crowd of the same age, and there they were, right in the middle. One little girl, who speaks English told me that they were calling my daughters Barbies and they think they are beautiful. The people here try to be lighter. They even bleach their skin at the salons, well those that can afford it, not these villagers. They walk around with umbrellas and stay in the shade for fear of getting darker. There are even job requirements that involve light skin and weight limits!

When we got back from the village, Riley and Kendall said they had fun but it was crazy because they asked so many questions and kept touching them. I’ll have to take pictures next time because it really is quite a site to see them surrounded by so many children everywhere they go.

I have to get ready for church now but I will write again. Love to all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 12:52 am

    YES! PICTURES! I keep trying to picture everything you are talking about but I can’t. What an amazing experience for the kids! Cade & Cailey hang on every word when I read your blog to them. Cailey was amazed that it is already tomorrow there πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to talk to you later!!!!! Love you, Miss you ~Trish

  2. Billy & Suzanne Frady permalink
    November 21, 2011 3:57 pm

    How precious you all are! Abba Father, the God of the universe picked you for such a time as this. I don’t know if your kiddos do this as little ones, but your story about the villagers reminded me that when our kids were little and tired, and another sibling touched him or her, they would yell, “She’s touching me! She’s touching me!” Billy and I still laugh about that today. You are so wise to blog and keep all of your experiences. This time will go by so very quickly, because you will be so busy with your work. Enjoy! May God’s protection be around all of you at all times. He has you in the palm of His hand. We thanked Him for you yesterday as part of our church service. The child popped up and thanked Him for all of you, another said that they hoped you would be back soon. Just know that we all love you and miss your beautiful smiling faces, but also know how very proud we are of you for saying “Yes” to God. As Romans 11:36 says, “For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be the glory forever! Amen.”

Leave a Reply

