Skip to content

12 more days!!!!!!!!

November 2, 2011

We are leaving in 12 days! We have 6 tickets to the Philippines at 7:30 a.m., on November 13th. The kids are so excited. They are counting down the days and constantly reminding me of how many we have left… My mind is flooded with what I have to get done before we leave and I don’t really know where to begin. I tried making a list but it really doesn’t help. A list can’t tell me what I need to bring with me now, and what I can wait on to be shipped there in 6 weeks. I also have to keep in mind that we each get two bags to check in, but they can’t weigh over 44 lbs., and a carry-on, but it can’t be over 26 lbs. I have never had to think this way. I pack and then unpack and question if I really need something as much as I thought I did. I wanted to take the homeschooling stuff with me so we can stay on schedule, as opposed to waiting 6 weeks later for it to arrive by ship, but man do books weigh a lot! Bibles, blankets, clothes, shoes, medicine, pots, pans, hair cutters, flashlights… 12 BAGS!?!?

I have gone through a whirlwind of emotions, and at times, I have to admit, I start to panic, but I pray and I praise and then I hear an awesome sermon about how God WILL provide… and I feel peace again. Being raised in the U.S., it is hard to know how to lean fully on God for our everything. We have so much available to us here that we set God on a shelf and only take Him down when we need Him. There is a stronghold of selfishness that I still struggle to break free of. And I thank God that He is taking us to a place where we can learn to be more like Christ. To be without so there is more room for Him.

And now, time for sleep… I think I have caught a touch of something because my whole body aches. Hopefully, it’s not typhoid, seeing how we all got a shot for that yesterday 😉 Seriously though, there is a bug going around our church and we got it over here at the Wilson household. I am just thankful that we are getting it now and not on the plane ride. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 10:49 am

    Praying that you wake up today feeling no aches, for peace that passes understanding, and for a buyer for your home so that you have one less thing to worry about! God will provide!

Leave a Reply

