Skip to content

Doubting Thomas

October 22, 2011

I have discovered that I have a lot in common with Doubting Thomas. First of all, he had to see Jesus’s scars himself to believe. Not only that, but he had to touch them. And you know what… he did! Then Jesus told him; “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed” John 20:29. That is you and me folks. One day, though, we’ll be able to see and touch the hands and side of Jesus because we have believed.

Secondly, he wasn’t afraid to come right out and ask Jesus what he was talking about. When Jesus was speaking to the disciples and telling them that they knew the way to where He was going, Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we don’t know where You are going, so how can we know the way?” John 14:5. I don’t know why but I find this so funny… Thomas reminds me of myself. I often come to the Lord with some straight-shooting questions and ask Him to show me. Sometimes He does. Sometimes He doesn’t. But we just have to keep following just like Thomas did when Jesus was going back through dangerous territory to Lazarus. Thomas said to the rest of the disciples, “Let us also go, that we may die with Him” John 11:16. I find this funny also. 🙂 This guy has been hanging with Jesus, seeing miracle after miracle and he still doubts. Yet, so do I. Not only do we have written historical documentation of these miracles, including Jesus’s resurrection, we have our own personal miracles He has done in our lives. And I still have moments of doubt. What’s cool is that Thomas went anyway, and because he did, he got to witness Lazarus being raised from the dead. Wow!!!

So… like Thomas, I question, I seek truth, and I doubt, but I still follow. I imagine what miracles and works I will see when I am there. Thank you Pastor Jason for this lesson.

And now, drum roll please……….

We have the ticket money to go to the Philippines and we will be leaving in approximately three weeks!!! That’s all for now, more details to come, I gotta get packing………….. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    October 22, 2011 3:03 pm

    Doubting Thomas reflection gives me the confidence to be weak but yet move forward in this walk. I am prayerful for the Wilson6 to continue their walk in peace.
    God with you,
    Jeff

  2. JoJo permalink
    October 23, 2011 2:39 am

    That was beautiful, how encouraging. Praise the Lord for his faithfulness with the tickets.

    🙂 JoJo

Leave a Reply

