Skip to content

Snake in the Yard

September 20, 2011

Snake in the Yard

The timing of things can be the rise or pitfall in what takes place in our lives. The devil orchestrates things in his artful ways and can take hold of you in ways you never expect. Tiptoeing into your mind waging his harmful plan to conquer and destroy relationships. I was at church in the hallway talking to one of my Christian brothers and he took a can of snuff out of his pocket. As he continued in his conversation my thoughts were on how big his dip was and how satisfying it would be to have some. I use to dip all the time. Later I was talking to another friend about dipping and he said, “I know lots of Christians that dip.” About a week later I found out that a good friend and Christian brother started dipping again. He started joking about it and I did too. I said I was going to go and get some too. I started thinking about it and craving it a lot! I told myself, ‘well lots of Christians do it.’ I could smell and taste its flavor. I told Mandi my thoughts and hinted to her that I was going to the gas station. She said, “If you do I will be so mad at you!” I went into the garage and started working on things, mainly fighting with my flesh. I was wanting to do this and it didn’t matter what Mandi thought! I was going to get some. I started walking out of the garage with the idea of getting in my truck and going, when on the ground, under the truck, was a snake! It was a cool bright green with a yellow bottom. I picked it up and started to play with it. I brought it in the house and let Mandi and the kids see it. Thats when it hit me! In the end it bites like a snake and poisons like a viper. Proverbs 23:32 It all started a week ago right under my nose. My stomach started to ache inside. I was about to be bitten. I am about to be a youth leader I told myself. I have to be a role model for them. I can’t be doing things like this. My kids flashed before me too. Do I want my kids to see me do this? All these thoughts flashed and I saw the puzzle being slowly put together. Oh devil you are sneaky! For me, something like dipping can seem as harmless as a grass snake. For me it can lead to giving into other cravings. I don’t want that in my life anymore. I thank God that is was only a grass snake I brought into my house and to my family instead of my first step into temptation.

1Peter 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.
Thank God for His word. Our compass to keep us on the right path. To my wife Mandi thank you for your example you are a wonderful person.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 8:37 pm

    Wow! This is the perfect illustration WHY God’s Word instructs us not to entertain foolish thoughts. See how just thinking about sin, had you justifying the sin and even had you thinking evil thoughts about your beautiful wife. SURE you care about what she thinks! But you were side tracked by the foolish thoughts. God’s word also teaches us that he will provide a way out of temptation, if we will just take it. You took God’s way out! :)))) What a lesson for us all. Thank you for sharing it with us! I hope your Christian brother reads your blog. Perhaps this is God’s way out for him. Blessings! <

Leave a Reply

