Skip to content

Waiting…

September 8, 2011

While I’m WAITING, I will serve You… While I’m WAITING, I will worship…

That was me singing at the top of my lungs. I wrote the word ‘waiting’ and this song, by John Waller, jumped into my head. Love that song! Waiting is a real downer sometimes, but then again, rushing into something whenever God would have me wait wouldn’t be so good either.

So… while we are waiting… on the appointment for shots, on the homeschooling books to come in, on the house to sale, on these wildfires to quit threatening the homes of my family in Magnolia… we have been studying a book we got from friends (Tommy and Chena Meche), entitled “The Old Testament Made Simple,” by Melton Short. Thanks guys! I love, love, love this book because I get it! You see, for most of my life I rode the fence. I knew the stories I was taught in children’s church and Sunday school but I couldn’t tell you how they fit together, where they took place, really nothing concrete about them at all, except for the story itself. In fact, I think just knowing the stories alone is what made me start to question my faith as a young adult. I could recall most anything on how people stood up for God and were saved from giants or lions… But they started to simply become stories to me with little more meaning than a book of fairytales that didn’t link together in any way. I began to live on the basis of ‘if God is real,’ rather than truly knowing it and owning it. And that was a dangerous, lonely road to travel. It was a year ago in July when everything changed, a crossroad in my life when I had to choose… cling to God… or cling to the world…

Thank you God for sending your servants, good Christian people, to be there for me, and steer me to You. It was a hard path to follow at first, but has gotten easier with each step I take. And I have found that true joy that fills me when nothing else in this world could.

Alrighty, now back to the book :)… It reminds me of Rosetta Stone, which I love! It gives you the foundations you need in such a clear and simple way, and before you know it, you’re expanding on it by leaps and bounds! It’s like when you keep hearing about a person, and you finally meet them, and can put a face to the name, instead of your own conjured up image. Sometimes it’s completely different than what you expected ;-).

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 7:49 pm

    I will have to check out the book! Thanks! I was looking for something new to read anyway!

Leave a Reply

