Skip to content

A Book And A Clock…

August 6, 2011

I saw her from across the room. She sat tall in her wheel chair without any expression. There was something about her that kept drawing my eyes to her. After church service, in a nursing home, I was introduced to her and her husband. Mike May had a firm and respectful hand shake. Fran May had a soft hand shake but it felt as though she didn’t shake with her hand but through her big blue eyes. She looked as though she was of royalty. I was told her age and was surprised because she looked about 20 years younger. Her husband was pushing her chair down the hallway and invited me into her room to see what Fran used to do for a living. I couldn’t wait to see because I knew there was something about her. Walking in her room, I noticed the paintings on the walls she had painted before her illness. She had works published and was known for her portraits. There was one of Jesus looking up into the sky that was so wonderful. I felt honored to be there. Mike explained to me Fran had Parkinson’s and Alzheimers. She needed help to do everything in her life now. Mike looked like a strong person as he told us about her. I could tell that Mike didn’t get his strength from himself but through the power of Jesus Christ our Savior. Fran just sat there the whole time as we talked over her never saying a word. She was just there. Mike was finishing up with the story about Fran as he leaned over maneuvering Fran’s feet into position to get her into her bed from the chair. Mike said to Fran, “We made a good living painting huh Dear.” Fran responded to him with a smile “Yes, God is good.” Mike showed me the last art work Fran did. He said that when she was being tested by the doctors they asked her to draw a picture of a book and a clock. The drawing was of a little boy at the bottom looking up and reaching his hand up. At the top of the drawing was God looking down at the boy with his hands reaching out. I was in awe. How awesome is that. God was the Book and the little boy was the clock. It’s things like this that I will remember for the rest of my life. No matter what your going through, no matter how much you may hurt, after walking here on earth, the pain and suffering will be no more. That’s when our real lives begin. Thank you Mike and Fran May for showing us your love for God. In Christ we live!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Wilson permalink
    August 10, 2011 12:47 am

    John.
    Ilove this. Can I take a copy of it to Mike? I think he would really like it,

    I love you,

    Mom

  2. David & Amy permalink
    August 19, 2011 1:10 am

    I loved the application! Our Heavenly Father IS the book. He spoke us into existence. The clock shows us that we are a vapor – a poof of air. We are only here for a short TIME until we are in heaven with Him.
    Amazing how God allows us to meet the sweetest people that glorify Him.
    Love y’all

Leave a Reply

