Skip to content

Application Makes All The Difference

July 30, 2011

A lot has happened since I last wrote… however under the stove top has not been touched 😉 We still have Booger but he will be leaving us tomorrow. I think I might even miss him…

Let’s see… we have a new roof, a for sale sign in the front yard, a for sale sign on the truck, took the kids to get their passports… oh and last Sunday John had the opportunity to speak in front of a church. 🙂 It went well… He pushed through his nerves and audible words came out. 😉 He was so nervous up there, as he has never done anything like this before. He said he got lost in his notes and couldn’t find his place or really even read them at all due to the fact that they suddenly became blurry. I think that was the time he had a really long silent moment and I was praying… “Oh God please open his mouth and give him the words,” while I had my 11 yr old daughter whispering in one ear… “Why is Daddy not saying anything?” And my 12 yr old son whispering in my other ear, “Cricket… Cricket…,” Now when I get nervous I tend to laugh which sometimes is not a good combination, especially at funerals or in Church and the more I try not to laugh the worse it gets… And of course when I had them both whispering in my ear, I couldn’t help but laugh and then pray for not only God to give my husband the words but to stop me from laughing! I did not know these people and I did not want them to think I was laughing at my husband up there pouring out his heart! God pulled us both through and we feel so blessed to have been able to share what God has laid on our hearts with such a warm, loving church. He has another church to speak at this Sunday and everyone keeps saying it will be easier this time. 🙂 I am going to try my darnedest to write sooner than later about our experience this Sunday…

In the mean time, I have to tell you about a sermon I just heard by Andy Stanley… He talked about how somehow we, as Christians, feel like we are doing good just by going to Church. He gave examples like buying all the materials needed to do a fix-it-yourself project, but unless we actually apply what we have purchased, to actually doing it, then nothing really has changed… Or buying exercise equipment like a treadmill… We don’t look any different unless we apply ourselves to actually exercising. He asked the question, “How many of you wake up and look in the mirror and see how awful you look, but don’t do anything about it before you go out in public?” The truth is, most of us spend as long as needed in front of the mirror to look good, and work so hard on the outside when it really doesn’t make much of a difference. Yet, we somehow have mixed feeling guilty during a sermon as growing spiritually. Lots of times the more guilty we feel the better we think the sermon is and we go home living our lives just the same… This sermon spoke volumes to me… maybe it was so good because it made me feel so guilty. 😉 Anyway, it helped me to hear this sermon for several reasons, but one is because I often think ‘Man it’s going to be tough in the Philippines when I can’t get my spirit tank filled through our pastor’s powerful sermons…’ But you know what… the application makes all the difference. And I have to remind myself that it’s not about me going to church. It’s about applying what I’ve learned and following where God leads me…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Loraine Millican permalink
    July 31, 2011 2:33 pm

    You told me it would make me laugh! (It Did) I am sorry that you inherited that particular “funny bone”. Reminds me of another experience you and I had in church. Love you, Mom

  2. August 5, 2011 7:11 am

    I certainly remember that experience too… and probably everyone at that Church that was sitting anywhere in the same vicinity… haha Love you too, Mom

Leave a Reply

