Skip to content

Today

July 9, 2011

I know I haven’t been on here in a while… People keep asking what’s going on and when are we going back. I guess that’s why I haven’t written… I don’t know. But I do know that it will be in God’s timing. Thank God for that! 🙂

Friends and family still want me to write though, so I will start with today 🙂 I woke up bright and early at 6-ish by my husband who NEVER sleeps in late. He sweetly asked if I wanted to go on a walk. So I fought the sleepy monster and forced the word “Yes” to come from my lips. Mornings rarely ever agree with me. However, I could easily stay up all night long 😉

Well we are two days in, to a two week venture of dog-sitting for my sister-in-law. His name is Booger, although I think Snot or Drool Bucket would have suited him as well. He is two years old but a giant, half boxer – half lab. Very sweet but aggressively playful and STRONG! :-/ Our walk was good… I laughed at John trying to do some Ceasar Milan dog whispering on Booger, while he laughed at me trying to hold him back from chasing down a deer.

Then we came back home and I started the dishwasher and washing machine. When I have those two things going and doing all the work for me, I somehow feel like I am getting a lot accomplished 😉 In the midst of this, John walked into the kitchen and I told him how we needed to pull the frig out before selling it because I didn’t want whoever buys it to pull it out and see behind it :-/, so right then and there, he pulled it away from the wall like it was nothing and broke the water line. I said, “Well I didn’t mean right now,” as I was not in the mood to scrub at 7:30 a.m. And he was not pleased to have to get his tools out so early either… Anyhow, I put on a sermon entitled, ‘Overcoming the Ups and Downs of Life.’ 😉 Half way through, John laughed as he was squatting behind the frig with his flashlight and pliers, and said everyone should listen to a sermon while they’re working. Then, since he was already back there, he scrubbed as well! I think I’m going to wake up early with him every morning… Maybe tomorrow I’ll mention how we need to lift up the stove top to clean under there before we have people come look at the house…

On a serious note… we are making much progress into moving forward to getting to the Philippines. We have at least three churches we are going to share our mission with. We have our missions greeting cards made, a donations letter written, one garage sale under our belt, an estate sale to go. Oh and how could I forget the best news yet… there was a hail storm while we were in the Philippines… okay so that’s not such great news, except for the fact that our insurance adjuster came out and approved us to get a completely new roof!!! You have no idea how badly we needed a new roof and how hard it would have been to sell our house with the one that is on there now… Oh and another thing… the roofer, Jeff Wood, that will be replacing it for us got to talking with John and he said he wanted to give back 10% of what the roof cost to support our mission! Thank you thank you thank you God!

Well that’s all for now… I’ll let you know if the stove top gets lifted and cleaned 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David & Amy permalink
    July 12, 2011 3:59 am

    Over coming the ups and downs of life is our life lessons! I love how suggestions turn into full blown jobs! Hope John was able to fix the ‘fridge!
    Thanks for sharing your day with us! Love you ALL. D&A

  2. Janet Wilson permalink
    July 17, 2011 8:52 pm

    It makes me kind of sad to hear bout garage sales and estate sales, but I see how God is working in The Wilson Six life and I can’t help but rejoice that he has smiled down on you and is blessing you in so many ways. How wonderful it is that instead of getting angry about a water pipe breaking, you take it as an opportunity to hear a sermon!
    I love you all,
    Mom/G-Mom

Leave a Reply

