Skip to content

We Got Some News!!

May 16, 2011

I love to write, so you’ll probably be mainly hearing from me on here, or from my husband (with me dictating 🙂 ).  There may even be an occasional  letter from the kiddos, who love anything technology/computers… even if it means writing.  Well… I have some news!  We got some news!!  I really have no idea where to begin in telling you this news.  Alright, I’ll just come out and say it… Our lil’ ol’ family of 6 is uprooting and moving to the Philippines!!!  There is simply way too much to type on how we came to this point in our lives.  I mean, literally, it would take a whole book for you to even begin to understand how we are where we are now.  But I do want you to understand, to see what we came from.  So I am writing a book about it.  I simply cannot contain it.  What I will tell you though, is that I, for one, have never seen myself as the missionary type person.  I have always been too afraid of change, too comfortable in my bubble of existence.  But my journey… our journey has led me to realize that this is not my home… that I don’t need to be living for this world.  It fades.  It offers nothing but false, short-lived joy.  True joy exists only in truth.  True joy comes from being out of our control and in His… From being freed from the burden of sin and the weight of the world.  Once we finally realize that all we have to do is let go and have faith by trusting… there is no greater release.  Nothing is impossible.  And you just might find that you can do the unthinkable, the crazy thing that makes no sense to the world.  But once you quit living for the world, you’ll find that you don’t care.  That there is really only one worth pleasing, and He is already pleased.  There is nothing you can do to make Him love you more, but that, in itself makes you want to fight for Him more, to know Him more, to love Him more…

With all this said, I still struggle with the world and with my own flesh.  I am not perfect, not near it, nor will I ever be.  But I know who I want to please, who I am living for, and where I will forever be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David and Amy Cox permalink
    May 22, 2011 8:04 pm

    We love all 6 of you so very much! We are praying for your new journey that Our Heavenly Father is about to place you on – for your safety, peace, health and adjustment to a new culture. We will miss you more than you will ever know! We recognize your being called to the mission field – all our support and prayers are with you all.
    Rms 8:28 And we know that all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

    all our love to your family – David and Amy

  2. grannie permalink
    May 24, 2011 11:29 pm

    MANDI AND JOHN,WHAT CAN ISAY EXCEPT- WOW- YOU ARE REALLY BRAVE AND I ADMIRE YOU VERY MUCH. STAY TRUE TO YOURSELVES, TAKE CARE OF EACH OTHER AND THOSE WONDERFUL CHILDREN. I LOVE AND MISS YOU ALL

Leave a Reply

